April 23, 2014

Latest Headlines

Mary Queen of Angels students collect products for South Buffalo Community Table

Deny Adelman named to Lancaster Opera House Board of Trustees

Allstate recognizes performance of Kenmore financial professional

Teens to raise money for Kids Escaping Drugs

Journalism and music workshop offered at Mount St. Mary Academy

Learn what's in our water with Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper

North Tonawanda to host 'May Mayhem' youth basketball tournament

2014 Phi Delta Kappa Presidential Awards announced

Get Ready for KidBiz

Memorial bike ride to honor Bryce Buchholz

Clarence students inducted into National Honor Society

The Clarence National Honor Society Officers at the induction ceremony on Tuesday.

BY: Kaitlin Fritz, Metro Source | January 31, 2013

The National Honor Society inducted 71 new Clarence High School students on Tuesday. National Honor Society is an organization that accepts academically inclined students who show leadership and excellent community service.

The process for students to be inducted into NHS is first to fill out a candidate form. To be eligible, they must maintain a 90 percent grade average. In their candidate paperwork, the students need to prove their leadership and their community service. There is now requirement for hours of community service but the committee that chooses the students to be inducted looks for consistency in service.

About 120 students had filled out candidate forms this year. A scoring system is used for each student’s paperwork. Each student that meets the score set by the committee will be inducted into the NHS.

Tuesday’s induction ceremony invited the parents of all inductees and hosted a keynote speaker. This year’s keynote speaker was Spanish teacher Bill O’Donnell who was presented with an honorary membership. The keynote speaker nominated and voted for by teachers. National Honor Society Advisor Ashley Dreibelbis described O’Donnell as inspirational and this was one of the reasons he was chosen to speak at the ceremony.

Also recognized and given an honorary membership was Judy Cannistra, school secretary Dreibelbis said that Cannistra is always helping with NHS and she deserved the recognition.

Dreibelbis has been the advisor for NHS for three years. She is a Clarence High School graduate and was also a member of NHS when she was a student. She chose to be the advisor to be involved in an extracurricular activity and said that she really enjoys it.

“It’s nice to work with kids who want to do service for the community,” she said.

All members of NHS are required to do a certain number of community service hours after they become members. Dreibelbis said she tries to find organizations and activities for the students to volunteer for that they will enjoy. For example, last year she had many students interested in going to college for pre-med. She contacted Hospice and those students were able to do their community service while also getting experience in a field that could help them in the future.

NHS is also an organization that many colleges look for on student applications.

Dreibelbis said that not only does NHS get the students more involved and prepared for college, it also introduces them to several prominent people in the community. NHS works with the Clarence Chamber of Commerce for some events as well at the WNY Food Bank, Habitat for Humanity and the students also help several PTO groups with their carnivals.

“It’s nice organizing those events throughout the year,” said Dreibelbis.

The students that were inducted at the ceremony on Tuesday were: Gabriella Alberico, Madison Amico, Rachel Anthone, Rebecca Anthone, Evan Arthur, Lauren Badding, John Binkowski, Chelsea Blackman, Robert Blake, Derek Boyer, Judith Brennan, Katrina Buczkowski, Victoria Butler, Kimberly Carlson, Hallie Christopher, Corrie Colf, Maxwell Costich, Sullivan Curry, Naomi Deer, Kelsey Devine, Corinne Fiegl, Jessica Fischer, Jeffrey Graziano, Abigail Heleba, Cady Hoffman, Margaret Hoffman, Charlotte Hogan, Victoria Hossenlopp, Erik Johnson, Melanie Johnson, Sydney Johnson, Christopher Joshi, Michael Kaplan, Kaylie, Klavoon, Emilee Klug, Nicholas Knorz, Kathryn Layer, Jessica Leone, Jenna Luzi, Tess Luzi, Julia Marfurt, Zachary Mayle, Alexander McGlue, Alexis Miller, Sydney Modeas, Erin O’Brien, Natalie Olivieri, Kayla Pallotta, Stephen Parwulski, Kathryn Platt, Grace Ponterio, Sarah Probst, Skyler Reinhardt, Caitlyn Roberts, Emmanuel Rockwell, Dina Rommel, Jacob Schrader, Emily Schupbach, Maddison Showalter, Anna Simpson, Sunita Singh, Kaitlin Smith, Alec Southern, Lindsay Stein, Erin Todaro, Alexander Tryjankowski, Rufina Tsur-Tsar, Cassandra Venditti, Stephen Weppner, Claire Willis, and Lillia Woodbury.

Add your Comments

Be the first to Comment