April 18, 2014

Latest Headlines

IAAP to hold dinner, networking meeting on May 7

Senior center searches for senior companions

ECC graduate earns spot on '40-Under-40' list

McCormick named dean of arts, sciences and professional studies at Trocaire College

'RecruitNY' returns for fourth year

Buffalo Niagara Heritage Village plans four exciting events

Markel defends guilty plea

Cheektowaga man sentenced to six months for beating former girlfriend

ECC brings back 'Pathways to Success' Pre-Collegiate Studies program

Canine companions look for forever homes through Buffalo C.A.R.E.S.

Three at UB named SUNY Distinguished Professors

BY: Metro Source Staff | January 10, 2013

AMHERST - Three University at Buffalo faculty members have been appointed SUNY Distinguished Professors, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system. Named Distinguished Professors in recognition of their national or international prominence in their fields were Francis Gasparini, UB Distinguished Professors in the Department of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences; L. Nelson Hopkins, professor and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; and David Kofke, UB Distinguished Professor and chair of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. The trio was among eight SUNY faculty members appointed to the distinguished professor ranks by the SUNY Board of Trustees.

Gasparini is an international leader in the field of low temperature physics. A world-renowned scholar who has been the forefront of his field for several decades. He is especially known for his pioneering studies of phase transitions of liquid helium in confined systems, contributions regarded as the “gold standard” in the field.

Hopkins is director and founding member of the Toshiba Stroke Research Centre, a facility that brings together physicists, chemists, aerospace engineers, neurosurgeons, cardiologists, and radiologists to study neurovascular circulation and develop innovative technologies and approaches for the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of neurovascular diseases.

Kofke invented the Gibbs-Duhem integration technique that is not pervasive in the field and in molecular simulation textbooks. He is one of five recipients of the John M. Prausnitz Award for outstanding achievement in applied chemical thermodynamics.

Add your Comments

Be the first to Comment